You have to hand it to Styx, they are pretty bold and brash when it comes to politics for an art-rock band. On their concept 1983 release Kilroy Was Here, they don’t hold back on their anti-censorship stance.

Kilroy was Here follows the story of a former rock star, Kilroy (lead singer Dennis De Young), living in prison in a future where rock n’ roll is illegal due to the the hands of of the MMM (Majority for Musical Morality) and a fascist government. The album picks up in the future where robots manufactured in Japan, called Mr. Robotos, work nonstop in jobs once held by humans. In addition to this bleak future, there are the ever-present anti-rock music rallies where citizens literally burn guitars, records, and other rock paraphernalia.

However there is a rebel leader, Jonathan Chance (Tommy Shaw), who wants to bring back rock music. The album follows both Chance and Kilroy’s attempts to prove Kilroy’s innocence as well as break up the MMM.

Kilroy Was Here is a clear stab at the then-prevalent Moral Majority and Tipper Gore‘s Parental Music Resource Center – better known as the PMRC.  This is due in part to Christian fundamentalists branding their song Snowblind as “satanic.”

The album itself is a great album both musically and, for the most part, lyrically. On almost every single the synthesizer reflects the eerie time that this world could come to if such a power akin to the MMM were to be in power.

Overall I would highly recommend this album if you are a big musical fan, but otherwise forget it.

However, it is still entertaining to watch.

Comments
  1. Marcus Vache says:

    The girls are incredibly hot by the way.

  2. Hi there. I found your web site via Google even as searching for a similar matter, your website came up. It looks good. I have bookmarked it in my google bookmarks to come back later.

  3. Halong Tours says:

    Wow, suprisingly I never knew this. Maintain up with good posts.

  4. very interesting points you have mentioned , appreciate it for posting .

  5. I’ve read some good stuff here. Definitely worth bookmarking for revisiting. I wonder how much effort you put to make such a excellent informative site.

  6. Karissa Tyus says:

    I’m not sure where you’re getting your information, but good topic. I needs to spend some time learning much more or understanding more. Thanks for excellent information I was looking for this information for my mission.

  7. running says:

    Thank you for every other wonderful article. The place else may just anyone get that type of information in such a perfect way of writing? I’ve a presentation subsequent week, and I’m at the look for such info.

  8. As a Newbie, I am permanently searching online for articles that can be of assistance to me. Thank you

  9. My wife and i have been very satisfied when Jordan managed to finish up his analysis through the entire ideas he grabbed using your site. It’s not at all simplistic to simply choose to be releasing guides that many others might have been trying to sell. And we all know we have the website owner to appreciate for this. Most of the illustrations you have made, the straightforward site navigation, the friendships your site give support to foster – it is all terrific, and it’s really facilitating our son in addition to the family know that the theme is awesome, which is extraordinarily pressing. Many thanks for all the pieces!

  10. Perfect article and Nice blog greetings!

  11. I always was interested in this topic and stock still am, thanks for putting up.

  12. Raye Sando says:

    This put up would seem to recieve a significant ammount of visitors. How do you get targeted visitors to it? It gives a nice distinctive spin on details. I guess possessing something authentic or substantial to speak about may be the most important factor.

  13. sac-a-langer says:

    Appreciate it for helping out, excellent information.

  14. copy games says:

    Genius ain’t anything more than elegant common sense.

  15. scholarships says:

    Thanks for sharing superb informations. Your web-site is so cool. I am impressed by the details that you’ve on this blog. It reveals how nicely you understand this subject. Bookmarked this website page, will come back for more articles. You, my pal, ROCK! I found just the information I already searched everywhere and simply could not come across. What a perfect site.

  16. SEO Company says:

    I’m really loving the theme/design of your web site. Do you ever run into any web browser compatibility issues? A few of my blog readers have complained about my site not working correctly in Explorer but looks great in Safari. Do you have any advice to help fix this issue?

  17. Nice article Thank You very Much!!

  18. Dee Moel says:

    I’m nonetheless studying from you, however I’m improving myself. I definitely love reading every thing that is written in your blog.Preserve the stories coming. I cherished it!

  19. I do agree with all the ideas you have presented in your post. They are very convincing and will certainly work. Still, the posts are too short for novices. Could you please extend them a bit from next time? Thanks for the post.

  20. cliquez ici says:

    Hello there, I see you have here a damn nice webpage at the moment! I do like a finely updated article.

  21. Hello there, you have a fine post just now! I do appreciate a well updated post.

  22. My brother recommended I might like this web site. He was entirely right. This post truly made my day. You cann’t imagine simply how much time I had spent for this info! Thanks!

  23. Nice article Very nice greetings :-)!

  24. Julie says:

    Wow! Thank you! I constantly needed to write on my website something like that. Can I include a portion of your post to my website?

  25. poznajmy sie says:

    Its like you read my mind! You seem to know a lot about this, like you wrote the book in it or something. I think that you could do with some pics to drive the message home a little bit, but instead of that, this is excellent blog. An excellent read. I’ll definitely be back.

  26. I went over this internet site and I believe you have a lot of superb information, saved to favorites (:.

  27. Hey there! I hope you don’t mind but I decided to submit your web site: https://thewildheartrocks.wordpress.com/2011/12/09/styx-sends-a-strong-message-to-the-religious-right-with-kilroy-was-here-2 to my online directory website. I used, “Styx sends a strong message to the religious right with “Kilroy Was Here” the wildheart” as your blog headline. I hope this is alright with you. However, if you’d like me to change the title or remove it entirely, contact me at Rogas4690@gmail.com. Thanks a ton.

  28. Deference to author , some good entropy.

  29. Good article and Nice blog greetings!

  30. I like this website it’s a master piece! Glad I discovered this on google.

  31. My comment boycott ends right now. The reason: Your temendous post. Thanks, you’ve liverated me :))

  32. Hey I am so delighted I found your blog, I really found you by accident, while I was browsing on Aol for something else, Anyways I am here now and would just like to say cheers for a marvelous post and a all round exciting blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to read it all at the moment but I have book-marked it and also included your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read more, Please do keep up the great work.

  33. Heya! Superb article! I’m also a ordinary visitor (somewhat more like addict :P) of the website nevertheless I had a is sue. I am not at all for sure whether its the right web site to ask, but you have no spam comments. I receive comments each day. Are you going to you assist me? Gives thanks!

  34. Heya! Fantastic content! I am just a usual website visitor (alot more like addict :P) of this website though I had a trouble. I’m just not for sure if it is the right web site to ask, but you have no spam comments. I get comments daily. May you assist me? Bless you!

  35. Some genuinely great blog posts on this website , thanks for contribution.

  36. kid cudi says:

    I have been a loyal reader for sometime now, this will be my initial comment. I thought it was eventually time. Thanks

  37. Perfect article Very nice greetings :-)!

  38. portlandia says:

    Two thumbs up my friend, what an excellent post and worthy of my comment of praise.

  39. Good article Thank You very Much!!

  40. I really like your blog.. very nice colors & theme. Did you make this website yourself or did you hire someone to do it for you? Plz reply as I’m looking to construct my own blog and would like to find out where u got this from. kudos

  41. Great article and straight to the point. I don’t know if this is really the best place to ask but do you folks have any thoughts on where to get some professional writers? Thx 🙂

  42. scholarships says:

    Thanks for sharing excellent informations. Your website is very cool. I am impressed by the details that you have on this blog. It reveals how nicely you perceive this subject. Bookmarked this web page, will come back for extra articles. You, my pal, ROCK! I found simply the info I already searched everywhere and simply couldn’t come across. What a great web-site.

Leave a Reply

