Happy birthday to one of the inspirations of the Wild Heart

Posted: May 27, 2011 in Classic Rock
Tags: , , , , , , ,

The Wild Heart wants to wish one of the many inspirations of this blog a happy birthday. (That is, next to Heart, Van Halen, Amy Grant, Pat Benatar, etc) Who is it you ask? It is a member of Fleetwood Mac that bangs a tamborine around onstage and sings such beautiful songs as Enchanted, If Anyone Falls In Love, Stand Back, Gypsy, Landslide, and the favorite of the Wild Heart herself, Wild Heart.

I figured since it is a good day to talk about this, I will. I am a recent Stevie Nicks fan – mostly dating back to last summer. I was in the UH library (I was in summer school) looking up stuff for class and listening to Pandora radio. I already had disproven my father’s longstanding dislikeness of Stevie Nicks based on the rumour that she was a practicing Wiccan. (Note: I come from a Christian family – I am still a rather devout Christian, but I try to see others as Christ sees them and not judge them) I had already downloaded the respective artists on iTunes. I guess I wanted something more to listen to on Pandora, so I put both artists in and I loved what I heard and downloaded more as time went by.

So here are some of my favorite Stevie performances:

Anytime I hear this song I think of my friend Jamie and how I wanted to get on Oprah for the Ultimate Stevie Nicks fan contest so I could get her to sing this as an extra wedding gift to Jamie and her now-husband. I guess I will have to give her the cd.

I love this song, but unfortunately it reminds me of a friend who’s an ex-addict who decided to date another ex-addict who was a terrible person. They had a child together and, needless to say, I think of this song as a metaphor for her relationships with others that have been destroyed due to the fact that she decided to date this terrible man and make some choices that resulted in a child born out of wedlock  and shotgun marriage. Also, in a way it is what I wanted to tell her about her decision to date this man, but more harshly! I love it!

Leave a Reply

