…………or at least bring back happy memories of summers gone by.

Since it is a nice day in Houston, so much that I went swimming, I figured I would tell you what my picks are for the 10 best songs of the summer.

  1. Cruel SummerBananarama.  Every single summer, I keep thinking this and usually I am proven wrong by my own best friend, family or new friends. This especially happened one summer when I had a bad semester in college previously. I was thinking that things were going to suck but they didn’t. I found a great lifegroup at church, I kept busy with summer school taking spanish (I enjoyed watching “las peliculas de Disney”) and social problems . I hung out with my best friends a bit, and even got to do 2 mega articles at the school paper. It was one of the best summers I have ever had.
  2. California Dreaming – The Mamas and the Papas. Almost every year in highschool, my parents and I would take a trip to California. We would usually hit up Los Angeles and/or San Francisco.
  3. UpShania Twain. Remember what I just said about my family’s trip to California? Well this song really brings back some memories. After much begging on behalf of me to my father, we finally got to go to Universal Studios Hollywood so I could ride the Back to the Future ride. (my dad had a longstanding hatred of Universal after they released that Last Temptation of Christ film and he outright refused to go there to that place) Either way, he caved in and took me and my mom to Universal Studios. At the time, I was enduring some fallout from things at school – both highschool drama and the fact that I failed a class and would have to retake it with a teacher that treated me like scum. So as I was at Universal Citywalk, this song comes on and it made me feel better. Oh and the following school year was one of the best that I remember having in highschool. So I guess things did look up for me.  
  4. Give It UpAvalon. If you grew up evangelical christian like I did, summer meant that it was time for camp – which would usually mean that somehow or some way you would end up dedicating your life to Christ again or making some sort of life change and making a promise that you probably would break to Jesus. The same thing would happen on mission trips both foreign and stateside. It’s an unfortunate ordeal. That is why I picked this song in retrospect because God calls us to give him your all 24/7 365 days a year, not just in the summer or when it suits you.
  5. Down Under – Men At Work. If you were someone that were a teenager around 2003, you may or may not remember that they used this for the film the rockin’ awesome (and very funny) Disney movie Finding Nemo – at least in the advertisements. That was the best summer film that Disney has ever put out next to Flight of the Navigator
  6. Round and Round – RATT. Picture this if you live in Houston: it’s the eighties, the temperature reads 90 degrees but the humidity is through the damn roof and you’re sitting by the pool with your cold drink of choice and the radio’s blasting ROCK 101 KLOL (before it became MEGA 101) and this song comes on. Perfect day isn’t it?
  7. Black Hole Sun – Soundgarden. This basically sums up every single summer in Houston – hot, humid, and when it rains it is nothing short of sheer amazement.
  8. Sister Christian – Night Ranger.For some reason, people seem to forget that people graduate all the time during the year – especially if you go to Devry University or are on the quarter system. However, for some reason this song reminds me of a highschool graduation. Maybe it has something to do with the video.  
  9. Shackles (Praise You) – MaryMary. Like I said before, I am a Christian – but not a perfect one. This song brings back memories of when I was about to enter highschool at my parent’s church’s youth group. I did the mission trip that they called Houston 2001 (now Houston Project, for all you people who attend Houston’s First Baptist Church). This song was a bit, uh, overplayed on both KSBJ and at church. Either way, I like the song because it is very catchy and I love MaryMary’s harmonies.
  10. Maggie May – Rod Stewart. The ultimate summer love song.
  11. It’s The End of the World As We Know it (and I Feel Fine) – R.E.M. One thing said, you must send much love to the boys from Athens, GA. My vote for best simple video.
  12. School’s Out For the Summer – Alice Cooper. My parents generation, as far as shock rockers go, got Alice Cooper. My generation gets Marilyn Manson and Lady Gaga. I think Alice Cooper’s is better because he wrote what every single person thinks about school.
  13. I Cannot Get You Out of My SystemNewsboys. Probably one of the greatest Christian bands of my childhood. I have always loved their rotating drum set that they use in concert. Better yet, they are original when it comes to their sound – a rarity in Christian music even to this day. Sheer amazement.
  14. Beautiful Stranger – Madonna. You gotta love Madonna. She is always cutting-edge, but sometimes she does go too far. (I wasn’t a fan of her standing on a cross during the Confessions on a Dancefloor tour – very offensive to me as a christian) However, I still like and even forgive Madonna – unlike some christians. I love this song. It reminds me of when I was 13 and I had to stay with my grandmother. I would watch VH1 and this song would always come on.
  15. You Found Me – FFH. What does FFH stand for you ask? It stands for Far From Home. They were a popular contemporary christian band back in the late’90-early 2000’s. They sounded a bit like John Mayer but ALOT better. I was in love with the bass line of this song, and still am! Also, the blending of their harmonies is nothing short of awesome. God has truly given them a gift.
  16. Time of the Season – The Zombies. Now picture this, a day at the beach with your love. Fireworks are going off because, well, it’s the 4th of July (if you live in the US that is), barbecues making some burgers (or veggie burgers) and corn on the cob. Perfect day isn’t it!  I probably would be accurate in saying that this defined summer when my father was a teenager sometime in 1969 – the year that Woodstock and the poorly planned Altamont happened.
  17. Extreme Days – TobyMac. Probably one of the best Christian artists ever. This basically defined summer 2001 for me – the summer where I left middle school and entered highschool. At the time I was a wannabe extreme sports person, but I did not succeed even at my sport of choice – rollerblading and skateboarding.
  18. Ice Cream Man – Van Halen. Who doesn’t like ice cream or Van Halen for that matter. I like both.
  19. Conga – Miami Sound Machine. ANYTHING Miami Sound Machine (or Gloria Estefan for that matter) sounds very summer-like!
  20. Heatwave – Martha and the Vandellas. Perfect song for the summer from Motown Records.
Comments
  1. whatsaysyou says:

    Cruel Summer by Bananarama (which was later covered by Swedish band Ace of Base in 1998/1999) is a cool summer song. My favourite summer song is June Afternoon by Roxette (one of my favourite Scandinavian bands growing up as a child in the 1990s).

Leave a Reply

