Rock music’s gold dust woman makes a huge splash with her 1983 release, The Wild Heart.

Rocker and Fleetwood Mac member Stevie Nicks shows off her best vocals on her 1983 release "The Wild Heart."

Stevie Nicks is known for having a lush, deep, contra-alto voice. Nicks’ beautiful voice truly shines on such tracks as synthesizer-driven If Anyone Falls. The track only gets better on the chorus, when Nicks is joined by her two backup singers which include die-hard fan favorite band member Lori Perry- Nicks.

However, the best track on this album is the ever-popular Stand Back. Since the album’s release, it has become a staple at both Nicks’ solo shows and Fleetwood Mac concerts. It shows Nicks at her best – complete with vocal prowess.

Nicks also shows what a great songwriter she is on Nothing Ever Changes in which Nicks exclaims “Come back…little boy/ baby come back…yeah…little boy/ Ooh…it’s just me that lies waiting/ Well it could come from anywhere/ oooh it could come straight straight from my heart/ nothing can be saved here.”

The one weakness of this album though is the end trackBeauty and the Beast. To anyone who was born AFTER 1983, do not let this title fool you because it is not inspired by or even talking about the 1992 Disney classic of the same title. She is speaking about the silent film of the same title. It just sounds too slow tempo-wise and doesn’t fit in with the overall album.

Overall the album is comparable to other great artists such as Sheryl Crow and her body of work, who has cited Nicks as an influence and also worked with her. I would recommend this to any fan of independent music because it has a definitive independent feel to it. Overall, it is a great album.

Comments
  1. Dottie M says:

    What I like about your reviews is that even if I have never heard of these bands/people/songs, I walk away NOT feeling like an outsider or hopeless at ever enjoying them. You have a unique way of writing them up which makes me feel like I am learning while at the same time hearing your perspective. Very nice. Keep it up, you are great at this!

  2. Henashena says:

    I love the album and have since it was released. My favorite has always been The song ” Wild Heart”. Great review!

  3. Rick Tompkins says:

    That a great review on an album I have enjoyed for many years. “The Wild Heart” is a great listen and “Stand Back” is my favorite song too. Make sure to give her new CD a listen if you enjoyed this one.

  4. Reblogged this on the wildheart and commented:

    For some reason, everytime I do Stevie Nicks my numbers go up! This is one I personally like myself.

Leave a Reply

