Up until 1985, nobody ever would have thought that the words “Amy Grant” and the word “rock star” would have ever been uttered in the same sentence. That is, until 1985 when she released Unguarded.

This was definitely an album that broke many barriers within Contemporary Christian music back in the 1980’s. For starters, not every song was about Christ – some, such as I Love You, were love songs written for her then-husband, Gary Chapman.

For a Christian album, it has very few musical weak spots and one thing is clear: Grant knows how to rock. She proves it on the opening track, Love Of Another Kind, a track that seems reminiscent of  Jump by Van Halen. However, Grant truly shines on Find A Way and Wise Up. However, they sound better when performed in a live setting.

Unguarded shows its weakness in the end song, The Prodigal – which is a retelling of the story of the prodigal son from the perspective of the father. It is simply overproduced and cheesy.

Overall, I would highly recommend this album due to the fact that, for a Christian album, it does state the beliefs of the artist in a very creative way but at the same time, it does not come across as too preachy.

Comments
  1. Wow, Christina, I like!! Great thoughts…. can’t wait to go and compare some of these songs you’re talking about to their contemporaries. I love Amy Grant but you’re right, I never thought of her as a rock star. But of course, I was too young in the 80s to really know.

  2. Leighnae says:

    Great blog, C! Makes me want to check these songs out.

  3. Reblogged this on the wildheart and commented:

    This is the one that started it all……….kinda like my own version of “Video Killed the Radio Star” by the Buggles

  4. First of all I would like to say great blog! I had a quick question that I’d like to ask if you don’t mind.
    I was curious to know how you center yourself and
    clear your thoughts prior to writing. I’ve had difficulty clearing my mind in getting my ideas out. I truly do enjoy writing however it just seems like the first 10 to 15 minutes tend to be lost just trying to figure out how to begin. Any suggestions or tips? Cheers!

Leave a Reply

